TPCK

Hi everyone. Welcome to my third entry. This entry is about TPCK and how I relate it with the lesson that I had carried out during my teaching practice.

I believe that after a thorough discussion about TPCK in the previous class, all of us now have idea about what it is all about. Besides, the three articles help us to understand better about the concept of TPCK.

TPACK or TPCK covers the 3 essential qualities of knowledge required by teachers for technology integration in their teaching. In this era of information, teachers need to know not just the subject matter they teach and the general pedagogical strategies, but also the manner in which the subject matter can be changed by the application of technology. I think we have been discussing about the importance of technology knowledge for teachers in the past three weeks.  Thus, I’m sure that all of us are aware of it. Now, talking about how I illustrate my lesson with TPACK, here’s my lesson’s background.

General Particular

Subject: English Language

Class: 3 Wibawa

Language of Proficiency: Mix Abilities

Enrolment: 25

Theme: World of Knowledge

Topic: Flora and Fauna (Animals actions)

Focused skill: Listening

Integrated skill(s): Reading, writing

Lesson objective(s): By the end of the lesson, pupils will be able to:

i) listen to the song and do the animals action

ii) associate the animal with its action.

Language focus: Action words (shake, stomp, swing, fly, leap, and slither)

Previous knowledge: Plural and singular verb, animals (elephant, leopard, bird, snake, bear and monkey)

Teaching aids: Laptop, speakers, animals’ sound, clip video, animals’ stick puppets and task sheets.

Set Induction:

For set induction, I had played the animals sound that I taught and asked the pupils to guess. There were six animals taught which are elephant, leopard, bird, snake, bear and monkey.

Pre Listening:

During this stage, I had introduced the language focus by associating the animals with their actions.

Elephant-stomps

Leopard-leaps

Snake-slithers

Bear-shakes

Monkey-swings

Bird-flies

After that, by using my laptop and speakers, I had played the clip video of The Animal Boogie to the pupils. I stopped at certain point and asked them question such as, ‘what’s animal stomping its feet?’. I played the clip video again, stopped at the second animal, and asked question related to the animal. I repeated these steps until I covered all the animals. Here, I have inserted the link of The Animal Boogie’s clip video from You Tube.

While-Listening.

In this stage, the pupils get to do the actions. I divided them into six groups and each group is given different animal. I also provided them with the animals stick puppets to represent their group. I played the clip video and they listened to the song first before they do the actions. Pupils waited for their turn to do the animals’ action. For instance, the elephant’s group had to listen to the song and when they heard ‘It’s an ELEPHANT!’ then only they stomp their feet. Same applied to the other groups.

Production.

Pupils had been given task sheets to be completed.  They were given sentences like ‘The monkey _________ from tree to tree. They had to fill in the blanks with the correct action word.

Closure

I concluded the lesson by re-calling all  the animals and actions that they had learned on that day.

In this lesson, the pedagogy strategy that I had applied was Total Physical Response because I asked the pupils to do the animal actions. It involved body movements such as stomping their feet, shaking their body, jumping, swinging and raising up their hands.

TPR can be used to practice and teach various things. It is well suited to teaching classroom language and other vocabulary connected with actions. Thus, I believe that TPR is an effective strategy to be used when it comes to teaching action words. I think the children can learn better when they can relate the verb with the action by demonstrating it.

In a nutshell, I can conclude that I had delivered the content which was about action words through TPR strategy and enhanced my lesson deliverance by showing clip video about the animal actions. I think that’s all for this post. If you have any query, comment, or suggestion on how to improve it, feel free to do so. Your comments are very much appreciated. 🙂

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. syira
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 15:43:21

    I think you managed to apply TPACK successfully in your lesson. Congrats ya. Besides that, the pedagogy that you used was effective as children can not sit still and they need to move around. The video was very interesting and captured pupils’ attention.. 🙂

    Reply

    • hozylolipop
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 17:33:33

      Thanks for dropping by Syi2. Actually, it was not really successful due to the absent of some ICT tools such as LCD. It would be better if I managed to flash the clip video through the LCD projector. However, I was glad that the pupils still could enjoy the lesson.

      Reply

  2. dhayalakshmi
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 20:23:43

    Well, Hozy i see that how you have applied TPACK in your lesson successfully. I see that you have used the the TPR apporach and i personally feel this approach best suits the primary school pupils as their learning takes place in a fun manner. Anyway all the best. Hope we continue to apply TPACK in our future lessons as well.

    Reply

    • hozylolipop
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 20:34:08

      Thanks Dhaya. Not only the children had fun but I had fun too. I enjoyed singing and dancing with them. However, the absence of LCD had somehow effected the deliverance of my lesson. Nevertheless, I will not stop here but I will continue to apply TPCK in the future. 🙂

      Reply

  3. eminadia86
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:14:25

    oh!! i love the video hoz…hehe. I can see that u have used those 3 elements in your teaching. and im quite sure u have achieved the outcomes rite..keep up your good work girl!

    Reply

  4. eminadia86
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:14:47

    oh!! i love the video hoz…hehe. I can see that u have used those 3 elements in your teaching. and im quite sure u have achieved the outcomes rite..keep up your good work dear

    Reply

  5. amyliafie
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:16:48

    YUP…u definately did use Tpack in ur classroom..good! do keep up the good job in the future!:) ah..n yes, i do agree that TPR is a very effective strategy to be used when it comes to teaching “verbs” and actions

    Reply

  6. Idzyana Mohd Dahlan
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 18:21:20

    Hi Hozana! [wah, formal giler. hahaha!] Good choice of pedagogy–TPR! I could see that your T was meaningful to your P and it really helped you to deliver the C. A great choice of video as well! It was very good enough for your kids to grasp the content of your video especially since your class was a mixed ability class. So, everyone should be able to grasp at least a very basic information that you expect them to get from the video. Thumbs up, babe! 🙂

    Reply

    • hozylolipop
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 20:29:16

      Thanks Idzyana.. hehe..;p.. TPR is one of my favourite approach. I like to do actions with the kids. I like it when they move their body and at the same time learning the language. It’s one of the ways to prevent them from dozing off in the classroom. hehe

      Reply

  7. illinaishak
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 00:43:12

    hi hozy 🙂

    your lesson was quite the same with me, i also taught verbs of animals to my students too but in a different way. by the way, its good to learn and share with each other. i like the idea of showing them video to introduce the concept like what you did here. you also paused at certain part and asked them questions, that was impressive!

    good job girl 🙂

    Reply

  8. gowri87
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 08:17:17

    hey cute gal….u have a great lesson up there….just would love comment that ur activity is awesome…as it requires a lot of group work.. surely it will inculcate cooperation among which i feel is very crucial. when they have the cooperation among them, teacher have lesser stress…thank for the wonderful idea neway..gal….gOOd JoB 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment